Equine Studies Curriculum

Equine Studies can be chosen by a learner as a choice subject from grade 10. Equine Studies curriculum encompasses four main areas of study namely Equine Nutrition, Equine Anatomy, Riding Proficiency and Equine Health Care.

Equine Studies consists of Theory and Practical components. Pupils learn about the following:

  • The care and feeding of horses.
  • The Anatomy of horses including the system, digestive system, etc.
  • Horse riding and horse training.
  • Horse management.


Equine Studies activities include field trips to:

  • Feed manufacturers
  • Racehorse trainers
  • Veterinary clinics and more